Tags

,

Ever visit someone’s blog and as you read their entries you realize you have absolutely NO CLUE what they are talking about? Authors of most blogs tend to make a lot of assumptions which then leaves the reader feeling quite stupid for not knowing what in the world is going on. I realize that when people post blogs their original intended audience is more than likely people that they already know. However, with the development of the internet and search engines more and more random people read your blog posts. So without further adieu, here is my obligatory introductory post…

I never wanted to run away and join the circus, but I joined one anyway. Or at least that’s how it feels most days. When my husband and I got married in 2002, I didn’t think I could have children and quite frankly didn’t really care one way or the other. About 6 months after that, things changed. We decided that having kids was something that we desired, and I made an appointment with a gynecologist. After running tests and performing an ultrasound, they found cysts on my ovaries and I was diagnosed with PCOS (Poly-Cystic Ovarian Syndrome). We tried for years to get pregnant with no success. Figuring that God had for some reason decided not to give us biological children, we made the decision to adopt. I started turning our back bedroom into a child’s bedroom in anticipation of upcoming home studies. On December 23, 2008, my husband insisted on taking me to the dr because I was showing symptoms of bronchitis. We went home to Texas for Christmas that year so I really didn’t want to take the time to go to the dr, but he insisted so I finally agreed. They had to do a pregnancy test for legal reasons, aka CYA. Waiting for the nurse to come back with my Rx for my antibiotic was annoying because I just wanted to go. I was getting quite irritated because it seemed like it was taking forever. She finally came in and told us she had something to show us. We were dumbfounded as we followed her to the lab. Then she showed us a pregnancy test that was positive. Begin stupid questions: “Are you sure that’s mine?!” She reassured us that it was, and the celebration (read: squealing and crying) began. I will honestly never ever forget the elation of realizing that after 6 long, hard years we were finally going to have the baby we dreamed about, talked about, and hoped for. Unfortunately my pregnancy was not without drama, but that’s another post. Fast forward 17 months after our son was born and we found out we were expecting again. This time we had a beautiful baby girl via VBAC.

I love my job as a SAHM, but I’m still determined to finish college. I’m only one year away from my degree in Social Work. Even if I do finish, I highly doubt I’ll ever actually use said degree; for monetary purposes anyway. My many years as a college student did more to prepare me for life than a career.  I’ve studied music, psychology, graphic design, interior design, and social work. The fact that I have a varied background allows me to hold at least semi-intelligent conversations with various people.

My husband had surgery on October 22, to remove a brain tumor. He had two seizures over the summer and an MRI showed a tumor about the size of a golf ball. Fortunately it turned out to be benign, but the recovery has been in a word, hell. My life currently consists of juggling our two children, the afore-mentioned recovering husband, and an attempt to maintain some form of normalcy in our family.

This is of course the nutshell version on my life as I know it. My ultimate goal is to help people through various situations. I honestly believe that everything happens for a reason. We don’t always see it or find out the reason, but God is always there. This is easy for me to say, but not always easy for me to truly believe, especially given my current circumstances. I’ve been through a lot in my life, probably enough to write a soap opera. If anything my experiences will help me be there for my children as they grow up and go through their own experiences. My hope is that I can offer wisdom and support to them no matter what life throws at them.

