Seems like it’s been forever since my last post. In all honesty I’ve been too tired and worn out to even think about writing. The monkey finally had his speech eval and to say it did not go well would be an under statement. It was downright awful. Turns out he has severe language delays. This is on top of the stuttering. *sigh* He also has severe ADHD, which is what everyone who encounters him says so that’s not new. We’re waiting for the full eval to come back from the speech therapist so he can start speech therapy. He has an appt with the pediatrician to get a full hearing test done and to get a referal to get a full eval for possible aspergers/autism. Part of me wouldn’t really be surprised if he is on the spectrum, but part of me will still be devastated.

Seems like lately the meltdowns have been worse and more frequent. We are still making dietary changes and have identified a few trigger foods, one of them being tomatoes. I thought this would make having foods like pizza and spaghetti impossible unless I used a cream sauce or something instead. But some brilliant person came up with a subsitute sauce made with carrots and pomegranate juice. I bought the carrots and put them in the fridge and there they sat. I was nervous about making this new sauce. I thought it would taste weird and there was no way I would be able to fool my family with this. I finally worked up the nerve to make it. Boy was I surprised! My whole famly loved it and the monkey asked for seconds!! Even I was impressed. It wasn’t until the next day that I told my husband what was in it. Pretty amazing if you ask me. I got the original recipe here: http://momandtheminister.com/2012/02/17/story-of-the-un-tomato-sauce/. I made a few adjustments and there you have it. Here is my version.

Un-tomato sauce

2 lbs. freh organic carrots

1 C vegetable stock

1 C pomegranate juice

2 T lemon Juice

salt to taste

1/2 tsp garlic powder or 1 clove garlic

2 tsp italian seasoning  

1 tsp sugar or 1 packet Stevia

Peel and cut carrots into chunks. Put carrots and all other ingredients in a large saucepan and bring to a boil. Cover and let simmer until carrots are well cooked. Pour ingredients into blender and run until well blended and smooth. Transfer to jars and refrigerate until needed.

 

I let mine sit for two days in the fridge then I added 1 lb. of ground beef. The color is a bit off from regular tomato sauce but if you don’t look at it too hard you really can’t tell the difference.

