We’ve had issues with our son, the Monkey pretty much since birth. As he’s gotten older his behavior seems to be getting worse in certain areas. After several visits with the psychologist and months of waiting, we finally received the full report. She diagnosed him with mild autism and mild to moderate ADHD. Neither of which surprised us. Over the course of about a year, I’ve tried various “natural” things to try and curb his behavior and hyperactivity. I took him off artificial dyes and really wasn’t 100% convinced that it made much of a difference so I didn’t really think much about it when Daddy let him have candy. Sugar laden, brightly dyed candy. When naptime came around he barely slept for an hour, after which he just became crazed. It was then that I realized once and for all that I needed to ban surgary, dyed candy from the house. So here I am back to making most of our foods from scratch. It’s honestly difficult to really see the difference until you take away the positives, then it all falls apart. Both of the kids, or should I say all three including my husband, get it in their systems and they just can’t stop. They beg and beg for it then cry when I tell them no. Which tells me that our original reason for starting all of this in the first place, the Monkey, is not the only reason to continue what I had been doing. Yes, it’s time consuming, but it’s really a small price to pay for the health and well-being of our family. I was quite domestic today and made homemade pear juice, mostly for the Peacock’s sake since she’s had some GI issues. But I must say, it turned out quite tasty. Much better than the bottled crap you can buy. Knowing that the Monkey would want a snack before bed, I pulled out a mommy trick and made some healthy peanut butter cookies. The original recipe came from here: http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2007/11/03/gone-to-the-dogs/ and they’re labeled as dog biscuits. Wait. What? You fed your family dog biscuits??? Yes. Yes, I did. And you know what? They loved them! I did tweak it a bit to make them more “human friendly”. So here’s my version:

1 Cup peanut butter
1 Cup milk (I used almond milk)
2 Cups flour (I used 1 C whole wheat and 1 cup white)
1/4 Cup honey (local if you can get it)
1 Tbsp baking powder

Mix the dry ingredients together in a bowl. In another bowl mix the peanut butter and milk. Then combine the mixtures and add the honey. Bake at 375 for 15 minutes.

The original recipe had you roll out the dough, blah, blah, blah. My family doesn’t care what shape they are. I just used a small scoop and then lightly flattened them with a glass. I think next time I’ll add some chocolate chips.

